Anxiously Anxious

I am endlessly fascinated with the human body. Although at some point we all learn about DNA and its functions, few of us actually think about what DNA does for mankind, or society for that matter. If you biologically break humans down, we are essentially nothing but a bunch of cells being told what to do by some molecules. Without this interaction, nothing around you right now would be possible. The table your cup of coffee is sitting on, the table lamp that illuminates the room, the very device on which you are reading this blog post…none would be possible. Why? Because all of these things are the products of someone’s imagination, which is taken care of by the brain, which is broken down to cells and DNA.

Imagination-READY-FO-DA-WEB-994x1024

Few things bother me about the human body, including anxiety.

anx·i·e·ty

[ang-zahy-i-tee] noun, plural anx·i·e·ties.

1. distress or uneasiness of mind caused by fear of danger or misfortune
Anyone who has ever felt anxious before is sure to understand where this post is headed: the butterflies, sweaty palms, stammering, etc etc. Anxiety gets the best of us, and most of the time it leaves us to dwell in an unstable state of sorts until the adrenaline rush fades away.
I have always been the person to prepare extensively before presentations. No matter how short, you can guarantee that (at the very least) I had jotted down some notes on an index card or two and gone over the presentation three times the night before. This is my way of helping myself avoid brain farts and thus preventing anxiety attacks. Yet they still happen.
So imagine my usually prepared self going into a very important group presentation with nothing concrete under my belt. The anxiety hit straight home. I am still cringing just thinking about it; but lesson learned: I cannot ad-lib for my life. (Note to self: learn to quickly BS things on the spot)
Anyway, it is very difficult to overcome anxiety in general. I have yet to perfect my methods – maybe I never will – but with each encounter with the dreaded feelings of anxiety I notice that my tummy is in fewer knots and my palms aren’t as sweaty. I’ll take this as a very good sign.
Do you have similar experiences being anxiously anxious? Leave a comment below!
Leave a Reply

